Entry for September 16, 2006

acrobat

 Lately, I have been on the search for a new phone. I consider myself a good consumer electronics shopper, seeing that I know months in advance what I plan on buying, and usually research to the point of madness. During those searches I read a LOT of manuals that are usually put in the Portable Document Format, also known as PDF. PDFs are very convenient because they let you see a brochure just how they would look in print, and also prints them out exactly that way, without you having to set up page after page of info to fit your paper size. Usually the program used by most to read them is Adobe’s Acrobat program, which is on about every setup disk for any program on the planet. Now, my beef with Adobe is its program’s ridiculous size (it was 60MBs on my PC) and its constant annoying pop up screen asking you to upgrade! I don’t have a business, nor am I interested in writing my own PDFs, so this is just a lot of bloat that makes reading a simple document a pain in the tookus.

 

 No need to fear!!! Here comes the wonderful, light weight Foxit! Not only is the file under 2 Megs! It also will do about anything that you (the average web surfer) would want to do with a PDF for absolutely free! Boy, is it fast! Been using it for a week now, and have not had a single issue. The website goes into much greater detail about its advantages over Acrobat Reader, so I will spare you, and let you go there for yourself!

Link Image

Leave a Reply

