Abacab SACD Review (short and sweet)

abacab

Genesis, abacab SACD review.

If the three previous albums did not prove that this wasn’t the old prog rock Genesis we were all accustomed to, abacab did it. Known to the band as their “punk album”, this was the first album recorded in Genesis’ “The Farm” studio in Surrey England. Also, the first album engineered by Hugh Padgham, known for his work on Police albums. This album originally had that tight, rapid bass sound with little reverb, that is Hugh’s signature style. That sound remains, and truly has a live studio feel to the entire disc. Once again, there really is not a track by track difference in quality as reported on some of the other SACDs. I believe this is due to the fact that the band was in there own studio at this point, with better quality control. Or perhaps the previous tracks on earlier albums were recorded at different times. Heck, maybe its just the tech was getting better and better, and the guys were feeling comfortable about being a threesome now. I don’t know, nor will I try to guess, all I do know, is this is a Damn fine disc.

Vocals soar, horns blat with quick confidence, and drums kick with authority. Even the worst song ever made in the history of mankind (next to Les Boys by Dire Straits) Who Dunnit sound absolutely tight and wonderful. Of course, that is my opinion about those two tracks, your mileage may vary. That being said, of the 5.1 remasters, this album is by far the best, of those released so far.

2 Responses to “Abacab SACD Review (short and sweet)”

  1. Chandra Says:

    I almost never leave a response, however i did some searching and wound up here Abacab SACD Review (short
    and sweet) | Carnell. And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be just me or does it give the impression
    like a few of these remarks come across as if they are left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I would like
    to keep up with anything new you have to post. Would you make
    a list of every one of your public pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • carnell Says:

      I am sorry, I never have time to blog anymore. I don’t believe my Facebook page would be of any interest to you, as it is just personal pictures, and personal friends stuff. I have thought about starting this blog up again, but there are far better writers, and people with access to far better equipment than I have. I might point you in the direction of AVS for audio software and hardware reviews. As far as computers, I switched to Apple exclusively back in 2011. Cult of Mac is an excellent site for all the Apple news and reviews. Thank you for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

