Together In Perfect Harmony

Above pictured is the Logitech Harmony One Universal Remote Control

After 8 plus years of using my trusty old war horse, the Marantz RC2000MKII, I finally decided it was time to upgrade my universal remote. I knew I wanted another programmable one, with macros, I just wasn’t sure which. I had heard some good things about Harmony, and decided to take the plunge Friday. I just want to say, that I’ve NEVER had ANY consumer electronic be so intuitive and easy to operate right out of the box! I usually judge how simple a product is to use, by counting the amount of profanities spewed during installation. The more curses, the less usable. Well, I am proud to say, after 3 days of setting up, (which actually only took 15 minutes, I like to tweak) and use of this device, not even a “gosh darnit” has been uttered from me! EVERYTHING, and I do mean EVERYTHING had worked as advertised and has been a joy!

I have had tons of remotes over the years, and all have claimed to have ways to alleviate complicated, multiple button presses. You sit for hours programming each step for a Macro. Turn on this, switch to that input, turn TV to another input, only to hit the button to find NONE of it works because you forgot to add a 2 second pause or some other inane reason. If, after all that, and you aren’t discouraged, you’ll still never use the Macro, because you have to create another one to get out of the first one! Or shut everything off to start over another ma…..AHHHH! See what I mean?!?! Those days are over with the Harmony One. I actually use Macros for the first time in my life, which Harmony calls “Activities”. It truly is as simple as touching on the screen, things like; Watch a DVD or Listen to a CD. You can even customize those labels! For Instance, mine says “watch a Blu-Ray” and so forth. If you are doing one thing, and hit the Activity for something else, the remote KNOWS it, and switches accordingly. Best thing of all, it has a help button that actually helps!

The true test of a remote’s worth is the WIFE test. My wife came up to see what the fuss was about this thing. Guess what? She loves it! She can actually enjoy the best theater in the house now without my help! She loves the feel of it, the fact it has actual nice buttons, is light, and how simple it is to use without having to ask me what input, etc. If you are thinking of getting one, the only thing to keep in mind, is that it is infrared only. No Bluetooth, PS3’s or radio frequencies. But if you are like me, with an infrared system (including climate controls) you are in for a treat. I don’t think I can rate this product any better, I give it a solid A, an A+ if it did Bluetooth or RF. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some Blu-rays to catch up on this holiday weekend. -C

One Response to “Together In Perfect Harmony”

  1. Chris Says:

    I really liked your review. I have been a Pronto RU890 user for years and years it seems and have perfected my system to the point where it is both wife and 5 year old friendly. However it was unfortunately knocked off the sofa yesterday by my son. He was absolutely devastated and thought I was going to be cross. As it turns out, I am happy to be presented with the opportunity of an upgrade and I think your review may have helped me make up my mind…

Leave a Reply

